My writing debut.

My uncle once told me I have “digital incontinence”. This after a lengthy, chatty, and informative e-letter.

Rather than discourage me in my writing endeavors, which at the time was only letter writing, emails, and the occasional poem or short prose, I was moved to write a rebuttal:

The Dying Art of Letter writing

It is a sad day indeed for the literary community when the art of letter writing dies. By all appearances it is making a comeback via the internet and emails. However the contents is quite different, often connecting words are missing and so generally only small memos are sent, not letters of substance.

When we consider a great writer such as Jane Austen and that the majority of her work was contrived from letters she sent and received, it seems that such works could never be compiled today. They would be disjoint and very short to say the least.

Of course there are a few of us, a dying breed if you will, that consider letter writing an art and find much contentment therein. Like anything strange and foreign, we often receive ridicule and scorn for our loving task. Such comments as “you always answer so quickly!” is meant as a slap on the wrist for giving them a guilty conscience for not doing the same. Another one I recently received for a letter-style email, “you always did have digital incontinence”. Similar to the older “verbal diarrhea!” This from a relative no less!! This too will salve a guilty conscience for people who have little to say, no life to tell about or no imagination to invent one.

However, such downgrades as these are sent to try us serious writers and test our metal for future communiques. Will we give in and become like the rest, memo scribblers and one-liner writers? Will we continue on our quest to enrich our lives and the lives of others with our musings?

Jane, we will not give up!!

………………

It was not until a few years later and I was sharing with a writer friend (who is published) a few things I had written and her response to my writing was so positive that I realized that I should pursue my passion. I saw, there just might be a place for my work out there.

Perhaps other writers have felt the same, had the same reactions to their writing?

Leave a Reply

